This is for my gals…

Standard

So I promised some fabulous girlfriends of mine that I would test out a recipe and blog about it. They were happy. Now they are forced to read this (love how that works!).
Recipe:baked French toast casserole with maple syrup

Seriously, it looks so good. I love French toast, who doesn’t. I love to add real vanilla to the mix I make plus some nutmeg and cinnamon, it turns out so yummy. So I was really excited to try this out.

It was super easy to get ready:

20120115-221754.jpg
I had bought a loaf of plain white bread instead of French. This could have been a mistake. Keep reading,…

20120115-221909.jpg

I also cut the recipe in half. There is only 3 of us on the house. This made sense to me. Bread (double layered) in the pan and now onto the mixture (be jealous of my retro beaters, I know you are!)

20120115-222146.jpg

And pour overtop.

20120115-222216.jpg

Voila.

20120115-222235.jpg

I then covered it and in the fridge it went.

I made the topping that night too. Also very straightforward.

20120115-222345.jpg

20120115-222414.jpg

I covered that and left it on the counter so it would stay soft and easy to spread.

So Sunday morning. I got up, spread the topping on threw it in the oven. The topping did not go on as easily as I thought, but no big deal because it melts and spreads as it cooks.

So 350 for 40 min.

20120115-222644.jpg
It smelled super yummy. However (here it comes), it was so runny in the middle. So back in the oven for another 20 minutes ( meanwhile, Isaac has already eaten and I had some fruit and yogurt. This morning was already being tackled… With or without this casserole),

20120115-222850.jpg

So it’s now a bit better, but the inside still is bit runny. I’m not sure about everyone else, but my mouth just doesn’t care for the texture of runny eggs and frankly, it kind of grosses me out.
So, back in the oven now at 350 for 30 minutes (I’m now starting to think about what to make for lunch).

So now it’s 10:30 (2 hours after I put if in) and it’s out. It is still a bit soft in the center but eatable. I put it to the test.

Hmmmm he thinks.

20120115-223346.jpg

He takes a bite….

20120115-223406.jpg

And, success!!

20120115-223425.jpg

He liked it.

Pros: super easy prep. The cooked topping is like sticky caramel when it’s ready. Hit with 2 year olds.
Cons: runny and took forever to cook.

Things I may change for next time: French bread, less liquids over the bread it was great trying it out, next Sunday though, you’ll find me over the frying pan with some batter and my own French toast batter.

3 responses »

  1. Butter always makes a better batter, but I bet you would be better off with your original batter recipe, even though I’m not really a better.

  2. My message won’t have that great alliteration but I do want to say that the pics of Isaac are great. I always have the same problems with french toast bakes.

Leave a Reply

