It’s a Long Way to Tip-a-turkey..Bye-Bye Tom

Standard

On December 25th, I cooked a 23 lb turkey. Harry had heard from a colleague about a woman in Hemmingford, Quebec who sells turkeys. So, for the first time ever, we bought a fresh, local turkey. Was it worth the 30 minute drive? Yes, it was. It was the best turkey I have ever had in my life (sorry mom!). It was so juicy and flavourful.

I guess you must be thinking that I had a huge family gathering but I didn’t. In fact, it was just the four of us. You can imagine, I suppose, the amount of turkey we had left over. LOTS.

So I went to town creating all kinds of turkey meals. On Sunday night, we ate the last of that turkey in the Cobb Salad shown here. It was delicious. Even my sons liked it.

 

 

What are some of the other reincarnations of Tom Turkey? Glad you asked.

Turkey Pot Pies (x 2) (Thanks to Pioneer Woman)

Turkey Spaghetti Casserole (Also, thanks to Pioneer Woman)

Turkey Stock (Thanks to me)

Hot Turkey Sandwiches (Thanks to me)

Turkey Vegetable Tomato Soup (Thanks to me)

and now

Turkey Cobb Salad (Thanks to Everyday Food)

I love turkey but I’m not shy to say that I don’t want to see another one for a long, long time.

Tom Turkey – Adieu, Adieu to you and you and you.

Leave a Reply

