I think I can, I think I can, I think I can

Standard
I think I can, I think I can, I think I can

I made only one New Year’s resolution this year, and I think it might just be the hardest one I’ve ever made. And that includes giving up chocolate, exercising more, drinking less and one of my favourite past resolutions: being more patient, which I think I broke at about 7 a.m. on January 1 that year.

This year I’ve resolved to be more organized.

Like every busy person out there, I think that my life would go so much more smoothly if I was just better organized. There would be no insane panic to get five people out of the door in the morning if:

1. Our entranceway was more organized.

2. Our coats, snow pants, boots, hats, mitts and scarves were better organized.

3. We could find bus passes, keys, wallets, medication and backpacks.

Overseeing homework, piano practices and countless meltdowns while making dinner would be peaceful and not require a good stiff drink to get through if, you guessed it, I was just better organized.

The one thing that makes me lose my mind 180 times every school year is packing lunches. After a long day, the last thing I feel like doing is putting together healthy, fresh, well-balanced lunches for five different people with different tastes, appetites and food preferences.

While my kids count down the remaining days to summer vacation, I count down how many more school lunches I have to pack.  (Only 101 more to go.)

So my first attempt to be more organized this year is school lunches. This week I stocked our freezer with muffins and homemade bread. I made two different kinds of cookie dough, rolled them into balls and froze them, ready to pull from the freezer to bake up for lunches later in the month. When I made meatballs for supper one day, I doubled the batch and froze half to use in sandwiches. I made a big batch of granola, ready to be used as school snacks.

This weekend I’ll go through some cookbooks to find recipes for quick and easy-to-make lunches.

On Sunday night, lunch-packing begins again. What could possibly go wrong?

Leave a Reply

