No thanks…I’ll make my own

Standard

This past week, we went as a family to visit Upper Canada Village. They have a lights festival called “Alight at Night”. The weather wasn’t great but bundled up warmly, we strolled through the village. We went to a sing-a-long in the church. There was a light and music show and we also saw their gingerbread house exhibition. There was a freezing cold train ride by the water and then we stopped into the village store for some cinnamon buns. I don’t know about you but I love cinnamon buns. I spent the hour and a half drive home anticipating the delicious cinnamon buns. Then, we got home and realized that all the buns, six of them in total, which cost 20$ by the way, were raw! Completely raw in the middle. I was more than a little disappointed. So, I decided to make my own. I went to The Pioneer Woman for inspiration.

The inspiration.

The dough ready to roll.

Buns on the way to the oven.

The finished product.

Yummy.

 These were the best cinnamon buns that I’ve ever made. The dough was easy to work with. The only change I made was to cut the amount of butter and sugar in the filling. The original recipe calls for 1 cup of each. I cut it back to 3/4 of a cup of each. I think next time I’d cut it back a little more. The mocha icing really makes the buns delicious. I’d never have thought of mocha icing on cinnamon buns but it works. I made half a recipe and it produced more than enough. Try these cinnamon buns and you won’t regret it. Better than over-priced, undercooked buns any day!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

